graceycute

the beauty in me

Gracey’s 7 : “Cremaster” I get so weird..

We watched this film and I really find it so weird. I really do not understand the movie. My teacher even asked me if I really have to understand it or I just have to simply watch it.

Well then I realized what really performance art is all about. It doesn’t emphasize on performance, but rather on “art” itself.

weird.jpg
***Barney***

I really wonder how Matthew barney categorized his ideas and placed it in the movie separating it visually through that certain “floors” in the museum..

That was the first abstract expressionist film ( i hope im right) I watched and for me, it really appeared so crazy.. BUt it ended well, and not until I read the synopsis that I understood what the symbols in the film stood for. But seemingly, it still appeared to vague for me.. 😦

well, il try to make my own interpretation of the video okay?

The main character Barney wants to change the world. he wants to share to others what the world should be – free and spontaneous. He experiences conflict between 2 bands playing in one of the floors of the museum. He tried to get rid of them. Barney was on his way to the worker to help him build the future since Barney believed that the worker still doesn’t posses the right level of understanding.

He sees the group of women dancing, and he was saddened by the fact that the people seems to be so monotonous. They do the same things again and again and they are “uniformed”. They are made to look, feel, and act just like others and they cannot be free.

As the main character continues his journey, he meets this girl with a glass feet/shoe or whatever you call it and saw that the girl was prisoned by herself. He tried to save the girl but the girl changed into a half cat/leopard whatever -half human creature (how is that??) The girl now becomes the temptation for our hero. He was defeated at first and fell to the ground.

The girls who are synchronized and uniformed helped him. He was weakened, but he was more inspired to finish his task.

In the end, our main character managed to keep his work and goal higher that anything else as he succeded in his mission. He deafeted the temptation, and was able to meet the worker as he wanted to help the worker in building a better world – spontaneous and free.

So, is my interpretation weird or what? well, blame it on that piece of art men! :-p

January 24, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

